Taste of Chicago Announces Headliners

Lawndale News Chicago's Bilingual Newspaper - Local News

The City of Chicago and the Department of Cultural Affairs and Special Events (DCASE) is pleased to announce the lineup of performers at the Petrillo Music Shell for the 34th Annual Taste of Chicago, July 9-13 in Grant Park. Admission is free and festival hours are 11 a.m. – 9 p.m. Wednesday through Friday and 10 a.m. – 9 p.m. Saturday and Sunday. Tickets for the seating area at the Petrillo Music Shell are scheduled to go on sale on May 22 at the Taste website, tasteofchicago.us. Ticket prices will be announced at a later date.

AWOLNATION will headline the Petrillo Music Shell on Wednesday, July 9 to kick off the Taste of Chicago. The dynamic electronic rock band was formed and fronted by Aaron Bruno, formerly of Under the Influence of Giants, Hometown Hero and Insurgence. The band’s 2011 debut album Megalithic Symphony includes the mega hits “Sail”, “Not Your Fault” and “Kill Your Heroes”.

Janelle Monáe, the award-winning songwriter, performer, producer and “avant-garde funkstress” will headline the Petrillo Music Shell on Thursday, July 10, presented by Illinois Lottery. With her 2013 album The Electric Lady, Monae presents a collection inspired by her life experiences while the powerful women in her life were inspiration for the first single “Q.U.E.E.N.” Her “superpowers” are sure to be on full display for Chicago fans. For more artists, visit www.tasteofchicago.us.

Comments are closed.