IBHE Names Higher Education Leaders to COVID-19 Campus Reopening Committee

Lawndale News Chicago's Bilingual Newspaper - Education

Lawndale News Chicago's Bilingual Newspaper - Education

Following the release of Governor JB Pritzker’s Restore Illinois plan, the Illinois Board of Higher Education (IBHE) has convened a committee to shape guidance on how campuses across the state can open safely this fall semester amidst the ongoing COVID-19 pandemic. Deputy Governor for Education Jesse Ruiz said, “I am grateful for IBHE’s leadership on this and look forward to the committee’s recommendations for the 2020-2021 academic year. As always, our priority remains protecting the health and safety of students, faculty, and staff, while providing a high-quality education to prepare students for future careers.” The University of Illinois System, with its deep scientific expertise and on-going statewide work related to COVID-19, will ensure the committee has access to the latest public health research and guidance with a lens that is uniquely focused on higher education. The committee includes:

o IBHE Executive Director Ginger Ostro

o Representatives of Illinois’ public universities
•  Northern Illinois University President Lisa Freeman
•  University of Illinois President Tim Killeen
•  Southern Illinois University President Dan Mahony
•  Chicago State University President Zaldwaynaka “Z” Scott

o Representatives of Illinois’ private colleges and universities
•  Judson University President Gene Crume
•  Loyola University President Jo Ann Rooney
•  Northwestern University President Morton Shapiro
•  University of Chicago President Robert Zimmer
•  Federation of Independent Illinois Colleges and Universities President David Tretter

o Representatives of Illinois’ community colleges
•  City Colleges of Chicago Chancellor Juan Salgado
•  Illinois Central College President Sheila Quirk-Bailey
•  Lincoln Land Community College President Charlotte Warren
•  Rend Lake College President Terry Wilkerson
•  Illinois Community College Board Executive Director Brian Durham

o Dean and Provost of the Southern Illinois University School of Medicine Jerry Kruse

Comments are closed.