Additional Cities Sign the Chicago Climate Charter

Lawndale News Chicago's Bilingual Newspaper - Business

Mayor Emanuel announced that ten additional cities have signed the Chicago Climate Charter, a first-of-its-kind international charter on climate change. The Chicago Climate Charter now represents 67 cities and tens of millions of people in cities across the world. Cities around the country continued to express interest in the Chicago Climate Charter in the weeks following the North American Climate Summit. The ten additional Mayors that signed on include:

  • Mayor Denny Doyle of Beaverton, Oregon
  • Mayor Suzanne Jones of Boulder, Colorado
  • Mayor Wade Troxell of Fort Collins, Colorado
  • Mayor Jim Throgmorton of Iowa City, Iowa
  • Mayor Greg Fischer of Louisville, Kentucky
  • Mayor Jorge Elorza of Providence, Rhode Island
  • Mayor Hillary Schieve of Reno, Nevada
  • Mayor Sam Liccardo of San Jose, California
  • Mayor Chris Coleman of Saint Paul, Minnesota
  • Mayor Joseph Curtatone of Somerville, Massachusetts

Lawndale News Chicago's Bilingual Newspaper - Business

The initial Chicago Climate Charter was signed in early December at the North American Climate Summit, where leaders met to articulate commitments to the Paris Agreement and highlight the scope and scale of city climate action. By signing the Chicago Climate Charter, cities pledge to:

  • Achieve a percent reduction in carbon emissions in line with the Paris Agreement;
  • Quantify, track and publicly report city emissions, consistent with standards and best practices of measurement and transparency;
  • Advocate alongside other mayors for greater local authority and flexibility to develop policies and local laws that empower cities to take aggressive action on climate

A copy of the Chicago Climate Charter can be found at

Comments are closed.